Sacred Mountains in Hindu Religion

Sacred Mountains in Hindu Religion

Sacred Mountains in Hindu Religion

In the Hindu religion, some mountains are considered sacred. These holy Mountains are the abode of the gods and hold religious importance. The famous holy mountains are described as below;


Himalaya is a mountain range in Asia. It is one of the major holy mountains in the Hindu Religion. The north and North-Eastern part of India is covered with the great Himalayas ranges. It is a very sacred mountain range in the Hindu religion.

The word Himalaya is derived from ‘Him’ which means snow and ‘Alaya’ which means home. In the Hindu religion, Himalayas is the abode of the gods.

Himalaya is considered as the Himavan god, the father of Goddess Parvati. The holy peak Mount Kailash in the Himalayan range is supposed to be the home of god Shiva and his family.

A holy dip in the lake Kailash Mansarover is very spiritual in Hinduism. There are too many holy rivers like Ganga that emerge from the Himalayan glaciers. Pilgrimages like Badrinath, Kedarnath, Gangotri, Yamunotri are situated in the Himalayan hill range. The Shivalik hill range of the Himalayas contains too many sacred temples. Saints often choose the Himalayan region for spiritual meditation practices. Its pure, calm and natural environment is suitable for meditation. The Himalayan range also contains rare and precious herbs.

In the epic, Ramayana god Hanuman brought Sanjeevani booti from the Himalayas to heal the wounded Lakshman during the war with Ravana and his army. Himalayas range also contains the world’s highest peak, Mount Everest.

Tirumala mountain:

Tirumala mountain is situated in Tirumala town of Chittoor district in the state of Andhra Pradesh, India. This hill is famous for the temple of Venkateshwar swami. The Venkateshwar swami is a form of the god Vishnu. He is also known as Balaji and Srinivasa.

Tirumala hill is also known as Sapthagiri. This hill is 853 meters. above from the sea level and 10.33 square miles in area. This hill contains seven peaks called Seshadri, Neeladri, Garudadri, Anjanadri, Vrushabhadri, Narayanadri, and Venkatadri. Tirupati Balaji is one of the richest temples in India.

Govardhan mountain:

Govardhan mountain is another sacred mountain in the Hindu religion. It is related to the god Shri Krishna. It is situated in the district of Mathura, Uttar Pradesh, India. God Shri Krishna had lifted the Govardhan mountain on his little finger to save the people and animals of Gokul from the heavy rain caused by the Indra. Govardhan parikrama is done by the devotees. It is believed that this mountain is declining a little bit day by day and will exist till the end of Kaliyug.

Vindhyachal mountain:

Vindhayachal mountain is dedicated to Vindhyavasanidevi, who is a divine form of goddess Durga. She is the sibling of God Shri Krishna. This mountain is the abode of the goddess. The goddess fulfills all the wishes of devotees and gives blessings. This mountain range is found in the states of Madhya Pradesh, Gujarat, Bihar, Uttar Pradesh, and Chattisgarh of India.

Nandadevi mountain:

Nandadevi is a sacred mountain. It is situated in the Chamoli district of Uttarakhand, India. It is a part of the Garhwal Himalaya range. It is an altitude of 7,816m above sea level. Nandadevi is the second-highest mountain in India after Kanchanjunga. This mountain is the abode of the goddess Nanda, who is an incarnation of goddess Durga. Nandadevi temple in Almora city is a famous pilgrim. Nandadevi national park is also a famous and beautiful site. The snow-covered mountain view seems very beautiful and a perfect place for tourists.